Blog Tour, Book Reviews

Blog Tour and Review: The Postcard, by Zoe Folbigg

The Postcard, by Zoe Folbigg

Publication: Aria; August 1, 2019

ARIA_FOLBIGG_THE POSTCARD_EAbout the book:

‘Heart-warming, wonderful escapism and brimming with charm. I marvelled!’ Christie Barlow

‘I absolutely LOVED this! The Note was fabulous and this follow-up was a real treat!’ Mandy Baggot

The sequel to the bestselling phenomenon The Note – based on the true story of one girl and her ‘Train Man’…

A year after the kiss that brought them together in a snowy train-station doorway, Maya and James are embarking on another journey – this time around the world. The trip starts promisingly, with an opulent and romantic Indian wedding. But as their travels continue, Maya fears that ‘love at first sight’ might not survive trains, planes, and tuk-tuks, especially when she realizes that what she really wants is a baby, and James doesn’t feel the same.  Can Maya and James navigate their different hopes and dreams to stay together? Or is love at first sight just a myth after all… Perfect for fans of One Day in December, Our Stop and Marian Keyes. The Postcard continues the once-in-a-lifetime love story that readers so took to their hearts.

**My Review**

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Zoe Folbigg’s The Postcard. This is the follow-up to her previous novel, The Note, about Maya and James. A year after finally getting together, Maya is trying her hand in baking while James is getting more and more work as a photographer. But these two lovebirds decide to take the year off and travel, although she sort of had to talk him into it. While they set off on their adventures, Maya is doing a column about their trip for Esprit magazine, James is still stressing about bookings that he canceled, although hopeful of getting work as a travel photographer, and Maya’s best friend is back home completely breaking down over the stress of motherhood. Sounds busy, but there’s more. Also woven into this story is the mystery of a young woman that has gone missing during her travels, as well as, Maya’s sudden realization that she wants to have a baby!

I loved The Note and was so excited to read The Postcard. But while I enjoyed The Postcard, I don’t think this follow-up is as good as the first novel. Perhaps it’s unfair to say that because rather than James and Maya remaining painted in a picture-perfect light at the end of The Note, The Postcard reminds readers of the realities of relationships and not everything stays so perfect after the couple walks off into the sunset. Not everything is going to be sunsets and roses after that amazing kiss that seals the deal with another person, however, most of my issues were with Maya herself. I found her hilarious and spunky in The Note, but this novel had me thinking descriptors such as “self-absorbed” and “spoiled.”

The Postcard is written with Folbigg’s trademark wit and charm, so any issues with a character here and there were frequently forgotten thanks to the writing and dialogue. This one started out a bit slow for me, but I assure you that once you get pulled into their travels and descriptions you will find yourself burning up the pages on this one. This author is the master of vivid language and imagery which evokes all the feels, sometimes gross, but I found the colonic hilarious, and she brilliantly keeps the reader on their toes as she navigates through her characters’ adventures. I look forward to reading more from this author in the future!

*Thanks to Aria and NetGalley for providing this ARC in exchange for my honest review!

Order Links:

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2XDiYhJ

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2Cg55hG

Google Play: http://bit.ly/2LMMxLs

Folbigg_Zoe colourAbout the Author

Zoë Folbigg is a magazine journalist and digital editor, starting at Cosmopolitan in 2001 and since freelancing for titles including Glamour, Fabulous, Daily Mail, Healthy, LOOK, Top Santé, Mother & Baby, ELLE, Sunday Times Style and Style.com. In 2008 she had a weekly column in Fabulous magazine documenting her year-long round-the-world trip with ‘Train Man’ – a man she had met on her daily commute. She since married Train Man and lives in Hertfordshire with him and their two young sons.

Follow Zoë:

Facebook: @zoefolbiggauthor

Twitter: @zolington

Website: www.zoefolbigg.com

Follow Aria:

Website: www.ariafiction.com

Twitter: @aria_fiction

Facebook: @ariafiction

Instagram: @ariafiction

Follow the Blog Tour!

Blog tour poster 1

Blog tour poster 2

Blog tour poster 3

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s